Angelina Jolie Surgery Bombshell

Two years after Angelina Jolie revealed she’d undergone a double mastectomy, she dropped another bombshell: last week she had her ovaries and fallopian tubes removed.

I don’t know, everytime I see Angelina Jolie on the byline, I read the essay. She just throws herself out there….it’s…it’s brave. The story she wrote was in the New York Timesnot a gossip website. In it, she reveals that while she’d been planning the surgery for some time, preparing herself “physically and emotionally” – she believed she had months to schedule it. But a blood test revealed that wasn’t the case.

She says, “In my case, the Eastern and Western doctors I met agreed that surgery to remove my tubes and ovaries was the best option, because on top of the BRCA gene, three women in my family have died from cancer.”

She went on to reveal she is currently taking hormone replacements, but says she is now in menopause.

“I will not be able to have any more children, and I expect some physical changes,” she writes. “But I feel at ease with whatever will come, not because I am strong but because this is a part of life. It is nothing to be feared.” 

If anyone looks at her and thinks, “Yeah…but isn’t she the girl who wore blood around her neck and mouth kissed her brother? And isn’t she the one who broke up Jennifer Aniston’s happy marriage?”  Yes, she was that woman but I still want to be as badass as her one day.  ~candy  

One thought on “Angelina Jolie Surgery Bombshell”

  1. Exactly. She is an inspiration. We all make some unusual, or “bad” choices, but that is part of being young and human. She has done more good in this world than most of the celebrities that are exalted now and extremely overpaid (e.g. Kardashians, Kanyuck, Hiltons, etc.).

Leave a Reply

